My ukulele

I thought since my life has been pretty boring the past two days (with school) I would post about my ukulele.

Its name is Mr. Uke and it is a Lanikai LU-21. I got it for Christmas last year, along with the Hal Leonard Ukulele Method Book 1.

I wanted a ukulele because I like Ingrid Michaelson, who plays a ukulele. I saw her in concert last October, which was amazing! Also, Kate Micucci was on Scrubs playing her ukulele, and George Harrison played ukuleles. I just think ukuleles are neat.

The first Beatles song I learned to play on my ukulele was Something by the Beatles. I used the chords I found here. I love playing this song!

My ukulele was my demonstration for my 4-H club this past year. This was a big achievement for me because I played (and sang!) All My Loving by the Beatles in front of people. Normally I don’t like singing in public, but I did it!

My second favorite song to play is Here Comes the Sun by the Beatles. (Are you sensing a theme here? I love the Beatles!) After several months of practice, I have it memorized! Well, actually, I mostly play the first page of it and leave it at that.

I made a cardboard ukulele in February 2009. It took me two hours and it matches up really nicely to my real ukulele. I was inspired to make a cardboard one after I participated in the 4-H Music & Drama Festival. One club made cardboard instruments for their play. So the next day I found some cardboard from a shoebox and found the measurements of a ukulele. Here is the end result.

I brought my ukulele to school on my last day of school in June so I could show it to my band teacher. Unfortunately, many people were talking during my band class that day (we had a party or “celebration of life”) so it was hard to hear the ukulele. I never realized how quiet one ukulele was until I brought mine to school. My band teacher came to my graduation party, though, so he was able to listen to it then.

My third favorite song to play is the Tetris theme song. Other songs I like are Scarborough Fair from my ukulele book and Hey Jude by the Beatles.

At the John Green book event in Waupaca, we were talking to some other Nerdfighters while waiting for the event to begin. A few of them have ukuleles, which is AWESOME.

That’s all I have to say about my ukulele. I’ll end this with a updated photo of my Central Park Hoodie.

Also, I’ve decided to do NaNoWriMo! It’ll be my third year. I was kind of unsure whether I would have enough time, but I have tons of time in the morning on Tuesdays and Thursdays, so I should be able to make it work. Also, John Green is one of the authors who will be doing a pep talk!

4 responses to “My ukulele

  1. awesome cardboard uke!

  2. So, when are you bringing it to Thursday night knit night?!?

  3. I love the creativity of both your handmade cardboard ukulele AND your actual instrument on which you are playing some favorite songs! Well done!

Leave a Reply

